ACT Heritage Library Manuscript Collection
HMSS 0025 Narrabundah School Papers
Scope and Content Notes
Narrabundah School Papers
0.015 m (1 wallet)
Available for reference
The Narrabundah School was erected about 1894 at what is now the intersection of Empire circuit and Fitzroy Street, Forrest. It was known as the Duntroon School from 1894, and the Narrabundah School from 1904-1923. The school closed in 1923 when the nearby Telopea Park School opened. These items were donated to the ACT Heritage Library by Narrabundah Primary School, Kootara Street, Narrabundah, in 1995.
|Box No.||Description||Date Range|
Article: Canberra and District Historical Society, "The Old Duntroon - Narrabunda (sic) School, Canberra". , 4 March 1961
Article: C.S Daley, "Second Place for the First School". The Canberra Times.
|1||Photograph: "The Old and the New School". Black and white print with caption. Probably reproduced from the Federal Capital Pioneer or other local news sheet.||ca. 1925|
|1||Photograph: "Narrabundah School, 1918. Weston Album. National Library of Australia." Black and white print||1918|
|1||Photograph: "Narrabundah School, ca. 1909". Black and white print of children in front of the school. A tss list of the children's names is taped to the back of the print.||ca. 1909|
|1||Photograph: "Narrabundah School, Canberra, 1918, 12 pupils". Black and White print mounted on album page from Miss Anne Weston.||1918|
|1||Photograph: "Black Mountain, Canberra". Black and white printed mounted on album page from Miss Anne Weston..||1918|
|1||Note card: Note from Miss Anne Weston to Mr W Bennett, Principal of Narrabundah Primary school accompanying the photographs donated to the school.||1969|