ACT Heritage Library Manuscript Collection
HMSS 0081 Hotel Acton Guest Books
Scope and Content Notes
|Call Number||HMSS 0081|
|Collection||Hotel Acton Guest Books|
|Quantity||0.32m (1 large manuscript box)|
|Copying Conditions||with attribution|
Hotel Acton was opened on 5 May 1927 and accommodated many guests in Canberra for the opening of Parliament House on 9 May 1927.
The Hotel Acton was a replica of the Hotel Kurrajong in Barton designed by Commonwealth Architect John Smith Murdoch. It provided accommodation for families and singles, including permanent boarders.
In 1930, the Hotel was closed to guests and was occupied by the Patent Office until 1940. In 1940, the Hotel Acton was home to the ACT Police, the Canberra University College and the Office of the Prices Commissioner.
With a growth in population, it was decided to recommission the Hotel Acton as a hostel in early 1945. It remained a Commonwealth Hostel until 24 July 1976.
In March 1977, the Hotel Acton was renamed Acton House and leased to the Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Affairs, the Australian Federal Police, the Resolution Centre and other organisations. AIATSIS staff found these records and transferred them to the ACT Heritage Library.
By 2000 the Acton was privately owned and empty. In 2006, developers The Molonglo Group, incorporated the heritage listed Hotel Acton into its New Acton development which included an 18 storey tower, private residences and the Diamant Hotel.
|Box No.||Description||Quantity||Date Range|
|1||Guest Book||1 volume||01 July 1960 - 24 December 1960|
|1||Guest Book||1 volume||25 December 1960 - 20 June 1961|
includes list of names of 31 former guests at Canberra establishments not to be re-admitted without consent of the manager of the Commonwealth Hostels Limited
21 June 1961 - 17 March 1962