ACT Heritage Library Manuscript Collection
HMSS 0153 Canberra Nursery School Records
Scope and content notes
Canberra Nursery School Records
0.09m (1 Manuscript boxes)
|Copying Conditions||with attribution|
The Canberra Nursery Kindergarten Association, to “promote a knowledge and understanding of the preschool child and to further the establishment of a public kindergarten in Canberra” was instituted in 1943. It changed its name to the Canberra Preschool Society in 1955 reflecting the expansion of the government / community preschool model into the suburbs of Canberra.
Canberra Nursery School at Acton, was Canberra’s first nursery / pre-school. The Nursery School building had originally been the isolation block of Canberra Community Hospital, but government funding enabled it to be refurbished along the lines of the Lady Gowrie Child Centres. It was officially opened by Her Excellency, Lady Gowrie on 2 April 1944. The first headmistress was Miss Hinsby. The building was in use as a nursery school until 1952 when it became a primary school.
Box 1 Visitors' Book 02/04/1944-1952