ACT Heritage Library Manuscript Collections

HMSS 0468 ADAMS, Richard (Dick) Henry Talbot Papers 

Scope and Content Notes
Call NumberHMSS 0468
CollectionPersonal Papers of Richard (Dick) Henry Talbot Adams
Date Range1939 -1947
Quantity0.01 m (1 file)
Access Conditionsopen
Copying Conditionswith attribution
Related Collections 

This collection contains the personal papers of Dick Adams that were found in the book Our Darlings' Treasure House edited by Alexander Watson,1936. According to the inscriptions in the front cover, the book was a gift from Dicks parents at Christmas time in 1939.

To Dick from Mum and Dad

Inscription in the front cover of the Cover of Our Darlings' Treasure House edited by Alexander Watson,1936 : To Dick From Dad & Mum Xmas 1939.

On the next page, under the heading "This book belongs to" the following was written:  Richard Henry Talbot "Grevilla" Waratah Pathway Kingston Canberra Christmas 1939.  

This book Belongs to Dick Adams

Details inscribed on the first page of Our Darlings' Treasure House edited by Alexander Watson,1936.

Waratah Pathway or Parkway became Telopea Parkway, no 20. Telopea Parkway, (20 Telopea Park, Kingston). It was a private residence and the home of Talbot (Tom) Leonard Adams, master butcher, his first wife Jessie (Eileen) Sophia Adams (deceased 28 April 1949, aged 41) and then later his second wife Jean Briged (deceased March 1971). Tom had four children with his first wife: Richard (Dick) Henry Talbot, Francis (Frank) Leonard, John Talbot and Mary Burke (nee Adams).

Dick's father, Tom, was a butcher and business man, supplying meat to early construction camps in Canberra out of his business in Queanbeyan. He and his three brothers opened one of the first butchers in the Kingston shops precinct (then known as Eastlake) in the mid 1920s. Later Tom took over a shop in Flinders Way, Manuka  and expanded his business to O'Connor Shopping Centre, Garema Place, Civic, Bungendore and then back to Kingston in which T.L. Adams Pty Ltd commissioned the Adams Building (Jardine St, Kingston), also known as Adams Arcade. Tom also erected and named two buildings using his first and second names: Talbot House at Sargood St, O'Connor, in 1953, and in 1955, Leonard Chambers, Kingston. 

In 1962, Dick took over the family business T. L. Adams Pty Ltd; however, a few years later, in 1965, the company dissolved.

Dick lived in Red Hill in the 1960s and then moved to Main Beach, QLD in the late 1970s. Sadly he passed away on 8 February 2017.

The papers donated give a little insight into Dick's boyhood interests and schooling.


1956 'New Kingston Shopping Block Ready', The Canberra Times, 16 March, page 2.

1965, 'In the A.C.T. Courts', The Canberra Times, 5 June, page 8., Australian Daily Funeral and Death Notices.

Australian Government, 'ABN Lookup' Australian Business Register

Australian Government, 'File 1965GN33', Federal Register of Legislation

Australian Government, 'File 1977GN45', Federal Register of Legislation

Box List
Box NumberDescriptionQuantityDate Range
1Dick Adams’ school report1Circa 1939

Membership card to the Gould League of Bird Lovers of NSW 1910-1946 with the following text:

"This card is to certify that Dick Adams is a member of the League. President J.G McKenzie, B.A., Director of Education. Honorary Secretary J. E Roberts."

1Circa 1946
1Program – An Evening of Music and Song. Arranged by Burilda A. Millett, Albert Hall. The program includes 'A Miniature Musicale' presented by Jan Milson in which Dick Adams is a performer.119/11/194?
1Order of proceedings – 25th Annual Speech Day, Telopea Park School Canberra116/12/1947